1. Education

Articles related to ecumenical council

Ecumenical Councils - Ancient/Classical History - About.com
A list of the Ecumenical Councils of the Church with the name of the council, its number, dates, and the presiding pope.
First Council of Ephesus - Ancient/Classical History - About.com
An ecumenical council, the first Council of Ephesus was convened, under Emperor Theodosius II, in A.D. 431 and held in Ephesus (modern Turkey) to discuss ...
Council of Chalcedon - Ancient/Classical History - About.com
Definition: The Emperor Marcian convened the fourth ecumenical council, the Council of Chalcedon, on October 8, 451. Estimates of the number of bishops in ...
Ecumenical Councils - Significant meetings of the Christian Church
Ecumenical Councils considered matters of church-wide importance, such as holy days, the adoption of creeds, and specific heresies. Any decrees made by the ...
Council of Chalcedon - Important Ecumenical Council
Definition: The fourth ecumenical council of the Christian Church was held at the city of Chalcedon (currently known as Kadikoy in Turkey), from October 8 to ...
Timelines of Christian History: Christian Councils
Christian Councils. 325, First Ecumenical Council of Nicea was convened by emperor Constantine: established the Nicene Creed as the fundamental statement ...
Council of Constantinople - Atheism and Agnosticism from About.com
Definition: During the history of Christianity, four different ecumenical church councils were held in the city of Constantinople: First Council of Constantinople:
ecumenical movement - Atheism and Agnosticism from About.com
Glossary of Religion and Philosophy - ecumenical movement. ... a consensus on Christian doctrines - for example, as with the various ecumenical councils.
Council of Lyons - Atheism and Agnosticism from About.com
Definition: Two ecumenical councils have been held in Lyons, France. The thirteenth ecumenical council was held in 1245 and the fourteenth ecumenical ...
Council of Trent - Atheism and Agnosticism from About.com
Glossary of Religion and Philosophy - Council of Trent. ... For Roman Catholics, the Council of Trent is considered the 19th ecumenical council and Pius IV ...
1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10      Next

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.