1. Education
Send to a Friend via Email

What Is the Year of the Five Emperors?


Septimius Severus Arch

Arch of Septimius Severus in Rome.

Judith Geary
Question: What Is the Year of the Five Emperors?
Answer: The year of the five emperors is A.D. 193. In this year there were five emperors of Rome. Following the assassination of Commodus, Pertinax was declared emperor on New Year's. The five emperors were Pertinax, Didius Julianus, Pescennius Niger, Clodius Albinus and Septimius Severus, who started the Severan Dynasty.

There were a year of four emperors and a year of six emperors.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.